OACES Members Recognized at Fall Conference

The Road Official of the Year, Surveyor of the Year, and an Award of Merit were presented at the Fall OACES Conference in Bend, held October 17-18. Dewey Kennedy, Gilliam County Roadmaster, was presented with the Road Official of the Year award for 2016.

In the presentation it was noted that “Dewey probably does more with less than any road official in the state”. Clatsop County Surveyor Vance Swenson was surprised as his name was read for Surveyor of the Year for 2016

Mike Berry, Deschutes County Surveyor stated that “He (Vance) has continued to uphold the high quality of service and professionalism of the Clatsop County Surveyor’s Office and is an excellent communicator who strives to keep channels open among the private surveyors who file surveys within Clatsop County and with other private and county surveyors throughout the state”. A special Award of Merit was presented to Don Newell, Operations Manager, Marion County Public Works, for his efforts and dedication to education and training opportunities through his work on the Over the Shoulder project, coordination of events like the Skills Demo and Rodeo, Gravel Roads Workshop, and the upcoming Chip Seal Workshop.

In addition to the above awards, Jim Elam, Washington County Surveyor and Robb Paul, Douglas County Public Works Director were awarded Lifetime Memberships within OACES.

One final Appreciation Award was given to Ron Singh of ODOT for his many presentations and great information given to OACES members at multiple meetings and conferences. OACES thanks all its members for their dedication and hard work and is pleased to recognize these members for 2016.

More photos from the Fall 2016 OACES Conference

2018-05-11T11:47:51+00:00 October 31st, 2016|Categories: CRP News|Tags: , , , |