The way that Forest Trust Lands are managed is important to Trust Land Counties. The Council of Forest Trust Land Counties (CFTLC) is organization of the 15 counties that have Forest Trust Lands within their jurisdictions. CFTLC counties include: Benton, Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Coos, Douglas, Josephine, Klamath, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Polk, Tillamook, and Washington. Paramount to CFTLC is ensuring Forest Trust Lands are actively managed. Sound management practices lead to high forest production, in turn, building strong communities, robust local economies, and providing critical public services. Revenues from timber harvest on Forest Trust Lands support education, public safety, special districts, and other services. In order to ensure best practice in management, CFTLC supports keeping options open for forest management.

On April 2, a public hearing was held on a bill to ban aerial spray of pesticides on state forestlands. The bill,