As fuel tax revenues began to decline, the Legislature, in 2001 created the Road User Fee Task Force. The Task Force comprised of legislators, transportation commissioners, local elected officials, and citizens was charged with exploring sustainable funding options for Oregon’s transportation system.

At the top of the issues list for the Task Force was finding user-pay solutions. After examining two pilot programs, OReGO, the nation’s first road usage charge program was created. The voluntary program launched in 2015 is limited to 5,000 cars and light duty commercial vehicles and charges program participants a 1.7 cents per-mile for miles driven and awards a 34 cents per gallon credit for fuel tax paid at the pump.

Association of Oregon Counties